American Idol- Top 10

We’ve finally made it to the top 10! Woo hoo!

Surprise, surprise… Simon is wearing a black tshirt.

Anyone else waiting to see if Ryan ends up rolling down those stairs?

Oh My Goodness. It’s MOTOWN WEEK!!!! I love this music. I adore it and the people who created it more than any other genre of music. If you don’t know me personally, just take my word for it.

I’m either going to be overly critical or crazy sentimental tonight.

Matt Giraud- “Let’s Get It On”- oh man… I’m just so excited about this week! What a great song. Good choice to start out the week. Oh, he’s looking extra J.T. tonight. I don’t like the idea of him being behind the piano every week… and he just stood up. I love that he pulls off the raspy low notes and then hits the high ones too. There was one note there that was a little off and there are a couple white boy dance moves shaking things up, but overall he rocked it! I’m just so glad the song was well represented.

Kris Allen- “How Sweet It Is”- he is such a cutie. He has that great ability to smile and sing at the same time and I appreciate it. I was nervous at the beginning that he was changing up the melody too much but he stayed pretty close to the original. I wish the piano was a little quieter because at times it overshadowed him. I think he got stronger as it went on. That last note was great. And his wife’s a cutie too.

Honestly, best song selections ever. I vote for a Motown Idol show.

Scott MacIntyre- “You Can’t Hurry Love”- why is he choosing another female artist? I’m not a fan of the slow start. I just realized he sounds like he has a cold. Hmmm… is he ill or does his voice always have that tone? Okay, here’s the thing- I think he’s a good singer. I think he’s a great pianist. But I have something against “songwriters” on this competition because I feel like you can be a songwriter with your own material, but you shouldn’t be completely rewriting these songs. There’s a reason they were hits as they were. Once again, I think he’d make a great songwriter, but I don’t think he’s an Idol. And I’m sad that he’ll be on the tour instead of Alexis.

Paula just ducked under the table. Wow- that was an uncomfortable moment.

Megan Joy- “For Once In My Life”- oh dear… she’s still missing a name. I’m glad she’s moving around, maybe it’ll prevent the ridiculous dancing. Nope- she’s doing the butt shake right in front of the audience. I wonder if that front row knows the risk they’re taking when they buy tickets? Her voice is unique as always, but there’s something off tonight. She sang better last week with a contagious disease. I feel like she’s half screaming, half talking. She’s missing notes all over the place. And unfortunately, she’s still dancing.

Anoop Desai- “Ooo Baby Baby”- (shoop, shoop Anoop…) he did such a great job last week with the slow melody, I’m thinking this might be another good choice for him. His voice does not fit his appearance. He’s one of those guys that when you hear, you picture a completely different person. A young black, soul-filled man named Anoop. He’s hitting most of the high notes which is impressive. I feel like he’s a better singer than most of the people still in the competition. Maybe not as marketable or as likable, but a better singer. The song almost seemed too slow at one point. But for someone that was counted out two weeks ago, he definitely deserves to still be in it.

Michael Sarver- “Ain’t Too Proud To Beg”- churchin’ it up, huh? Let’s hear it. I think he should have left last week so it’s going to take a lot to win me over. He looks like someone I bought a car from a few years back. I think Smokey was right when he said Michael was a little weak. Only, instead of improving the vocals, it seems like he just worked on the face expressions and hand gestures. Not good in my opinion. I don’t know what else to say.

Lil Rounds- “Heat Wave”- I feel like she should destroy the competition tonight. She has the voice for this music. I love that she felt a connection in Hitsville. She looks beautiful tonight. (Did anyone else immediately expect to see Whoopi in a nun outfit when the band started?) The music seems a little fast and it sounds a little like she’s screaming… a little too loud. You know, she’s hitting all the notes and she sounds great, but I can’t help thinking how much more impactful a slow song would have been for her. I wish she had chosen “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough” or “You’ve Really Got A Hold On Me”.  I wanted to call her Lil Aretha but it didn’t happen.

Adam Lambert- “The Tracks Of My Tears”- based on the chosen song, I’m hoping he keeps it simple and pure. Nothing dramatic tonight please. HOLY COW- is that ADAM?! Wow. Okay, so he’s going dramatic with the styling. But there is nothing I can say about the singing other than it is simply beautiful. Last week may have destroyed Johnny Cash but this week he represented Smokey Robinson brilliantly. I am in awe of this performance. Breathtaking. Stupendous. Genius. I’m speechless.

Danny Gokey- “Get Ready”- it seems like the scratchy part of his voice is perfectly made for Motown. I think he looks great tonight… thumbs up behind the scenes styler! Yep, his voice fits this genre. He sounds great except that it’s a little rushed. The same issue as Lil- fast tempo, a little bit of screaming. Is the band choosing the speed of the song or the singers? He did alright but any performance following Adam was going to be a little bit of a letdown.

Allison Iraheta- “Papa Was A Rolling Stone”- her voice is so raspy that I expect her to pull an oxygen tank on stage like an 80 year old smoker. She sounds good. Parts of it were wonderful. I’m not sure she knew every word though. She sounds much better in the higher range. And that last note was great.

To be honest, I think there was a very clear line drawn tonight. And Scott, Michael and Megan are on the wrong side of it.

Obvious winner of the night- Adam.

9 Responses to “American Idol- Top 10”

  1. i think scott needs to go. he’s sooooo boring and i dont think he’s that good of a singer in the first place.

    megan was freaking TERRIBLE.

    also lil kind of bores me too. she has a great voice, but theres nothing really noteworthy or spectacular about her i dont think.

    anoop is snoozeville but ooh baby baby is my ABSOLUTE FAVORITE motown song. i will never get over the fact that i didnt live through the 60s.

    we really need to hang out because we have SO much in common. motown is my favorite EVER. and did josh tell you i took his sprinkles virginity this weekend? he was like “its a really good cupcake, but i dont get excited about dessert like girls do”. i was like BLASPHEMY! this, my friend, is what heaven tastes like.

    • the only reason I can give for Josh’s obvious taste bud flaw is that he eats so fast he doesn’t taste anything. seriously, i watched him down a 40 oz. slurpee and a big bag of reese’s pieces last weekend… all in about 15 minutes. he regretted it later. it’s something the naylor boys have in common.

  2. I agree with you on those who might be going home! And they should do Motown every Idol!

  3. Car salesman. HA!

    Whoopi in a nun’s outfit. Double HA!

    You crack me up!

  4. OK- I think I bought a car from Michael Sarver, too, and I think he might be back at the lot after the tour. Hilarious!
    And I wrote the same thing about Whoopi! haha! My sister had her tonsils taken out when she was about 6-8 and she got to dictate what we watched on TV for a while there. My grandmother brought her over the Sister Act movie and I remember her writing on her little wipe board, “Sister Act” over and over and over again. I could say the lines to that one in my sleep. I kind of would have liked to have seen the movie instead of Lil tonight. She is so good, but isn’t bringing the heat here lately.
    Loved your synopsis!

  5. Visiting from BooMama’s – HI!
    I enjoyed your recap, and I agree with your bottom three. I hope Megan or Michael go tonight.

  6. Visiting from Boomoma, too. I agree Scott needs to go, Megan or Michael will go.

Trackbacks

Leave a Reply

