Plan B

While I know that the majority of women who read my blog are married (and moms) I feel a need to comment on the Plan B pill.

Don’t worry, I’m not going all political or religious on you.

I just want to say that I think the pill’s name is inappropriate. An anti-pregnancy pill should not be your Plan B.

Why?

Because if you don’t want to have a baby, if you aren’t okay with being pregnant, if morning sickness, weight gain, hormones, cravings, pants with elastic waistbands, and labor aren’t on your to-do list, then don’t have sex.

It’s simple- abstinence is the best way to prevent pregnancy. It’s Plan A.

And if you choose not to follow Plan A, then Plan B is to use protection. Because a pill might be able to stop a fertilized egg from attaching but it won’t stop you from getting an STD.

See, I understand the concept of this pill. I love the idea that maybe fewer women will risk their lives with shady abortions because of it. And at the risk of alienating some readers and having my conservative card revoked, I’m even willing to admit that I think this pill can be massively beneficial for victims of rape.

But I wish it weren’t being promoted as a simple solution for being “forgetful.” I wish they would have named it the Plan C pill.

2 Comments to “Plan B”

  1. I loooooooove the fact that the morning after pill exists. I’ve never thought about the name though. It’s a great compromise between pro and anti choicers, because it really will prevent unplanned pregnancy and abortions! I think it should be sold in frickin vending machines on every street corner.

    But then again, I’m a raging liberal. 🙂

    • I’m not for the vending machines- or selling it in a plenty pack- because I’m nervous that women will start using it instead of protection- thus exposing themselves to diseases- and that men will use it as an excuse not to use protection- thus exposing themselves to diseases- and that 10 years from now we’ll find out that frequent use of the pill causes some form of cancer or prevents women from carrying wanted pregnancies.

Leave a Reply

