The Good Life

It’s no secret that I love photography. And having a cute kid in my house only makes me giddy.

These days though she’s posing for people who are way more talented than I am. People with cameras and equipment that I can only dream of. People who fix her hair and put her in the perfect lighting spots and try to make her look even more gorgeous than she naturally is.

That’s fine. I’m proud that they like her and I’m glad she’s having fun.

And while at first I may have been a little jealous of these professionals and the shots they’re capturing of my little one, I’m over it.

Why?

Because I get her the rest of the time. In all her raw, natural, perfectly messy and adorable, three year old state.

I know that the people with the big cameras will never appreciate these too dark, shadowed, incorrect depth of field, unfixed hair, no catchlights photos the way I do.

They’d toss these out. But not me.

I love that she looks like she’s keeping secrets. There’s some thought happening behind those eyes that can’t be staged.

pointer

secret

thinking

Tags: ,

One Comment to “The Good Life”

  1. I love your pictures…I love the natural light, the natural expressions that you are able to catch. Not just from Abby but with all your subjects, whether human or something from God’s creation.
    You have more talent than you give yourself credit for.
    I am so in awe of how you can capture what you see from that camera.

Leave a Reply

