Knock Knock

A few months ago Abby heard her first knock knock joke. Being the future-female-Jim Carrey that she is, she tried to repeat it.

Maybe because she was 2 at the time, her delivery was a little off. The joke was a failure. Crickets were chirping.

Knowing it was her first attempt, I felt bad for her. It takes courage to do stand up. I didn’t want her to fear the stage. Plus, I didn’t want to be the mom of the kid who couldn’t tell a joke.

So I decided to teach her one, solid, knock knock joke that would guarantee laughs on the playground. I went with the old school banana/orange joke. You know the one, where you keep repeating “banana” until you finally say “orange… orange you glad I didn’t say banana?”

How was I supposed to know what I was unleashing? I doubt anyone could have predicted the way Abby would react.

She took to the joke. Like a duck to water.

Unfortunately, she recently decided to start writing her own material.

Here’s an example from this morning:

– Knock Knock

– Who’s there?

– Monkey.

– Monkey who?

– Monkeyn’t you glad I didn’t say monkey?

*** Here I say, but “monkeyn’t” isn’t a word and you DID say “monkey”! Abby just looks at me and smiles.

Another one:

– Knock Knock

– Who’s there?

– Bodyhody.

– Bodyhody who?

– Bodyhodyn’t you glad I didn’t say bodyhody?

I could keep going. But I’m sure that would be unnecessary. Simply think of any single word in the english language (and you can make up your own word if you’d like to be even more like Abby) and then add “n’t” to the end of that word.

She thinks she’s brilliant. Maybe she is. Maybe this is her Andy Kaufman routine. I don’t know.

All I know is that she’s great at staying in character and she never forgets a punchline.

Tags: ,

2 Comments to “Knock Knock”

  1. “I didn’t want to be the mom of the kid who couldn’t tell a joke.”
    I guess that would come from being the daughter of a mom who can’t tell a joke?

    • totally different. you CAN tell a joke. you just let the audience guess at the punchline while you laugh remembering how funny it is.

Leave a Reply

