Trying to Focus

I think I have a disorder that has yet to be recognized by the medical community. I’d like it to be diagnosed as S.I.A.D.D. (Sharpie Induced Attention Deficit Disorder).

I blame it all on school supplies.

See, what happens is that each August I get a million creative ideas, start a thousand new projects, and only complete about ten of them.

And I think it’s all because when I walk into the stores and see those unopened packages of sharpened crayons, not-yet-gummy glue bottles, and oh so beautiful Sharpies in every color of the rainbow, I simply lose my mind.

Honestly, the school supply aisle fills me with longing and brings all my hidden dreams to the forefront of my mind.

I look at a blank calendar and imagine covering all the empty little calendar squares with important notes- each written in a different color, of course- and being more aware of my time than ever before.

Colored pencils make me think that maybe, just maybe, I have an unhidden talent and I can actually sit and sketch something other than lopsided stick figures.

I long to buy spiral notebooks and fill them with random- but interesting- thoughts and stories and poems that I will keep until I’m old.

Every year I battle this disease. Every year I decide that, “This will be the year I …”. And every year I end up trying to do too many things, to use too many supplies.

So this year I’m going to focus. I’m going to pick just one of those lovely items on the school supply list and I’m going to concentrate on actually using it.

Not just using it, but wearing it out with use.

I’m talking about running a sharpie dry type of use. A filling the margins type of use. A needing to sharpen the scissors type of use.

I’m motivated.

But how do I pick just one item?

To me it feels like picking a favorite child. How do you do that?

I’m thinking of drawing from a hat.

Leave a Reply

