Not By Sight

I often make the fatal error of thinking about instead of meditating on aspects of my faith.

As a person who gets bogged down trying to fathom the unfathomable, I love this passage by C.S. Lewis:

“The command, after all, was Take, eat; not Take, understand. Particularly, I hope I need not be tormented by the question ‘What is this?’- this wafer, this sip of wine. That has a dreadful effect on me. It invites me to take ‘this’ out of its holy context and regard it as an object among objects, indeed as part of nature. It is like taking a red coal out of the fire to examine it: it becomes a dead coal.”

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

