Inspiration

I have a confession to make.  You know those books that have a prayer written out at the end of each chapter? Those prayers that are meant to wrap up the meaning of the text and help you draw nearer to God? Well, I skip over them.

I don’t know what it is, but for some reason I have a hard time reading them and actually giving them any weight. Maybe it’s that the prayer is written by someone who doesn’t know I exist, much less anything about me. Maybe it’s that they’re usually pretty cheesy. Maybe it doesn’t feel right because I can’t read them and close my eyes at the same time. I don’t know why, I just know I don’t read them.

Except for this one. For some reason, my eyes refused to scan this one and my hand seemed incapable of turning the page until I read it. Every time I open the book, I unintentionally open to this prayer. Maybe the ink on the page is heavier than normal ink. Maybe the binding is broken. I don’t know the reason, I just know that I love it.

I haven’t stopped thinking about it since I first read it. And maybe the reason it seems different from others is that for me, it feels more like a mission statement for the taking than a prayer for the asking.

If you have any artistic aspiration, if you acknowledge the fact that you are indeed an artist regardless of your medium, maybe it’ll speak to you too. As for me, I plan on hanging it my future joy-inducing room. (I’ll explain the room soon.)

The prayer is from the end of chapter 10 in The God Who Smokes: Scandalous Meditations on Faith by Timothy J. Stoner:

“May your art be worship.

May your worship be art.

May you afflict the comfortable with jolts of inconsolable joy.

May you call forth the good, the beautiful, the eternal hope of your true city.

And when people step back from your painting, put down your novel, or leave the theater,

may they leave having been fatally stabbed,

inconsolably wrecked with a longing for home.

And may you reflect faithfully the face of your Father

who strides through the galaxies with brush in hand.”

One Comment to “Inspiration”

  1. Amazing!!!!!

Leave a Reply

