Timing

I snicker when I hear people talking about waiting until “the right time” to have a baby. Ha! Like there’s ever going to be a day when you look at your calendar and think, “Next April looks like a great time for less sleep, more poop, and an onslaught of obnoxiously colored toys to fill our house.”

I’m such a hypocrite. While I’m laughing at those people, I’m having the same thought a hundred times a day.

Only instead of a baby, I convince myself that now isn’t the right time to volunteer. To take a mission trip. To have that hard conversation. To start a business. To be honest with myself. To travel. To forgive.

The excuses are always the same: There’s too much going on. Next month would be better. I haven’t prayed long enough about it. We need a little more money in savings to feel comfortable. If I can’t give it my full focus/attention/heart, then it’s better to not give anything. I’m not ready.

Procrastination is an art I’ve mastered and I’m trying to unlearn.

Today, I’m thankful for those who didn’t wait until everything was “perfect” to do what they’d been asked.

Despite their fear of the peoples around them, they built the altar on its foundation and sacrificed burnt offerings on it to the Lord, both the morning and evening sacrifices.” Ezra 3:3

“On the first day of the seventh month they began to offer burnt offerings to the Lord, though the foundation of the Lord’s temple had not yet been laid.” Ezra 3:6

One Comment to “Timing”

  1. As a “planner” – I was one of “those” looking for the perfect time to have a baby. You know, financially stable, house, etc. But God had other plans for us – turns out that being laid off from your job is the magic recipe.

    I have learned that while you can guide your life, you can not plan it. I have found that things DO have a way of working their way out – something I was always curious about from the otherside….

Leave a Reply

