Turkey Day

I love this day.

I love turkey and family and stores being closed and movies and pie and taking a nap on the couch.

I love that although we’ve pretty much forgotten the humble origin of the holiday, we’ve managed to keep the spirit of gratitude and sharing and realizing just how blessed we are, alive.

For whatever reason though, the Thanksgiving Day nostalgia hit me pretty hard this year. And while I love where I’m at and who I am with, I can’t help remembering the old days.

So, for all my extended family out there, I hope today you have a platter full of olives, a few too many pies on your table, more than one type of sweet potatoes, a never ending pitcher of sweet tea, and a game of scrabble to enjoy when the food is gone and the dishes are clean.

And maybe one day, we can all enjoy a Thanksgiving brisket together again.

Happy Thanksgiving.

Love you and miss you- Jeannie- Squirt- Mean Jean.

One Comment to “Turkey Day”

  1. I’ll second all of your wishes and thoughts…
    love you lots.

Leave a Reply

