Ten (Not So) Little Words

“Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.” Hebrews 13:8.

Simple words that I can’t get out of my head or my heart. I’ve known the verse for a long time but truth be told, I never gave it too much thought.

My first reaction, my instinctual response, has always been that “forever” is the hard part. That this verse was written for people like me who struggle with the unknown. People who are slightly afraid of the future. I’ve thought it was meant only as a truth to hold to when looking forward.

But my thinking has changed.

It’s like the verse is playing on repeat in my mind. And each time it starts over, I struggle with a different part of it. I feel comforted by a different word. I feel angry and hurt and lost and hopeful in a brand new way.

I’ve think I have finally come to understand the beauty of the sentence in its entirety.

See, I need to know who Jesus was yesterday and who He is today just as much, if not more, than I need to know who He will be tomorrow.

Because there are days when I am angry at the past and my only comfort is to know that the Jesus who is loving me right now, the Jesus who I’m trusting with my tomorrow, He was there yesterday. He was completely in control and faithful and loving me yesterday. Even when I felt alone and abandoned.

And then there are days when I can’t see past the next minute. When each new moment of the day feels like a personal attack on my heart. Those are the times when I cling to the fact that Jesus doesn’t change who He is. He is as faithful today as He was yesterday and if I can lean on that truth, I’ll make it through.

Forever isn’t the only scary time. Yesterday hasn’t always been perfect. And God knows, I’m often fighting just to get through today.

But Jesus Christ is the same yesterday and today and forever.

Tags:

One Trackback to “Ten (Not So) Little Words”

Leave a Reply

