Cause and Effect

“Before long, the world will not see me anymore, but you will see me. Because I live, you also will live.”

John 14:19

On this Easter weekend, between bites of chocolate bunny ears and cooking meals and attending services and laughing with family, I urge you to take a minute and ask yourself if you fully trust that small and mighty statement-  “I live.”

My answer was no.

The whole verse, I’d argue the whole of scripture, hangs on those two words. If you look in my Bible you’ll see they are underlined, but if you could read my heart, you’d find them crossed out.

I’ve tried to rewrite the beginning of that sentence so many ways-

“Because you try…” “Because you love…” “Because you forgive…” “Because you desire…” “Because you believe…” “Because you suffer…” “Because you hope…”

– none of them could be further from the truth.

It is not because I have done anything. It is because He has done everything.

Because He lives, I will too.

Tags: ,

2 Comments to “Cause and Effect”

  1. I love this post. Would you mind if I share it with some friends at Bible Study? I am so thankful for the insight and talent that God has given you.

Leave a Reply

