One More {Little} Number

Our little girl turned four today.

Four.

It hasn’t sunk in yet.

Yesterday she told me, “Before you can be a grownup, you have to be all the little numbers first.”

Today she marked one more little number off her list of things to do and be.

While there is this part of me that wants to tuck her into a ball and make her stay tiny forever, the rest of my heart is truly excited to watch her grow.

Matt and I woke her this morning (after we told her to go back to sleep when she asked at 5 am if the sun was up yet) with a blueberry muffin topped with a pink candle and a rousing rendition of “Happy Birthday.”

She smiled and then immediately stood up to show us how much she has grown and asked, “Do I look four now?”

Yes, yes, she does.

She looks four and talks four and acts four.

(Except for those crazy times when she looks thirteen and talks thirteen and acts thirteen.)

Four years ago she was this tiny little thing and I didn’t know what to do with her.

Now she is tall and huge and I don’t know what I’d do without her.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

