Waiting. And waiting some more.

Lately my journals are filled with questions. Not many answers though. The same with my prayer life. Lots of wondering, asking, and demanding met with equal parts silence.

The blog has been lacking any posts with substance for a while now, and this is my only explanation- I’m waiting.

The bad news is that I’ve done this before and it’s just as difficult now as it was then.

The good news is that while I don’t enjoy the feeling of aloneness, or the lack of answers, or the stillness, or the wilderness – whatever you’d like to call it – I have never failed to be amazed and overwhelmed by how and when and with what the silence is broken.

I love live music. I love orchestras and symphonies and even high school band performances. I love how the musicians wait for applause to die down and the room to go quiet and even the breath of the audience to be held before they begin. They wait almost a moment too long. They wait until you think something is wrong, maybe someone has forgotten their solo, maybe they aren’t prepared, maybe the night will be a complete mess.

And then a beautiful note rings out into the void.

Why would we expect any less of God?

Silence is an underrated accompaniment to all beautiful sounds.

Psalm 62:5-8

2 Comments to “Waiting. And waiting some more.”

  1. I KNOW THE WAITING IS ALMOST INTOLERABLE. JUST REMEMBER, YOU ARE NOT ALONE, EVER.

  2. Lamentations 3:25-26

    Love you lots, mom

Leave a Reply

