Cultural Cluelessness

While we were waiting at a stoplight today, Abby piped up from the backseat, “Mommy, why don’t you like that Chick-Fil-A with the fireman?”

Me: “What? What are you talking about?”

Abby started gesturing and pointing wildly: “Over there. The Chick-Fil-A with the fireman.”

I turned, I looked, I saw.

McDonalds.

With a Ronald McDonald statue in front of it.

My hatred for the golden arches has apparently affected my child more than I knew.

For a moment I felt bad for depriving her from the place that is supposed to make kids happy. But then the light turned green and I remembered the new spicy chicken sandwich at Chick-Fil-A and I immediately felt better.

(In case you’re curious- she also has no clue what Chuck E. Cheese is.)

Tags:

2 Comments to “Cultural Cluelessness”

  1. And I remember the time we drove by a Chuck E. Cheese and both David and I tried to get Annabelle to look the other way…but up she pipes from the back seat…” Oh Daddy and Mommy look at the fun, fun place with the big mouse eating cheese on it…we should go there! ”
    We couldn’t believe her radar…Our poor deprived children indeed. ; )

  2. I never thought of Ronald as being a fireman. hhhmmm.

Leave a Reply

