It is the first step…

I’ve spent, oh, about 20 years complaining that my straight hair refuses to behave most days.

Today I admitted to myself and my family, that I do not have straight hair. In fact, I have curly hair.

(this is the face of stunned disbelief)

Shocking? Yes. It came as a complete surprise to myself, Matt, Abby, and Daniela- my hair stylist who was happy (and being paid) to support my denial for as long as I wanted.

Matt did question how this information has managed to elude me for the better part of two decades. I have no answer for that.

(this is disbelief from a side view)

I don’t expect to reach the point of acceptance anytime soon, but I am acknowledging now that owning a bathroom full of products designed for straight hair is not the same as actually having straight hair.

(this is just ridiculous from a back view)

So if you see me out and about with this crazy mop on my head, feel free to not make eye contact. I know it takes some getting used to. I’m still a little jumpy around mirrors myself.

(this is fear hidden by curls)

Tags: ,

9 Comments to “It is the first step…”

  1. I love it! And so does Autumn!

  2. Embrace the curly hair!!!!!!!! I still straighten mine sometimes but curls sure do make life easier!! By the way….your hair looks great!

    • ahh, thanks Mary Beth! Ironically, I’ve always been jealous of people with curly hair. (That may be plain crazy instead of ironic, though.)

  3. Oh my gosh – this happened to me!

    One day I went in to the Toni & Guy academy and asked for them if they could give me some sort of body wave or something because I thought that’d be easier than dealing with this little kick here and there that my hair would always do. Straight, but not – all – the – way – straight…

    She says, “I don’t think you need a wave, you just need a haircut.”

    And I walked out with wavy hair. I totally get the astonishment!

    I love the look on you. What color is it gonna be?

    • Amber- who can pick just one color? I really don’t know because I’m torn between the fun colors of summer and the wait a few more weeks until it should feel like fall (even though it won’t) and choose something more autumnal.

      I’ll probably run through a few of them if I stay indecisive much longer.

  4. I can’t believe that look of astonishment!!! I LOVE YOUR HAIR, THE WAY IT WAS AND THE WAY IT IS NOW. O.K. I’M A BIT PREJUDICED, BUT THAT’S ALLOWED.

    • Your prejudice is both allowed and accepted here 🙂

      I’m thinking maybe I’ll just dye it red and have the red curly hair you were trying for!

  5. AND IF YOU WANT TO SEE REALLY STRAIGHT HAIR, LOOK UP SOME OF MY CHILDHOOD PICS. NOT PRETTY!!!

    • Granny- Heather and I have talked about this and we fully believe that our crazy hair genes come directly from you. But I think we’ll all be okay if we stop pretending our hair is normal and accept the insanity!

Leave a Reply

