Life

We’re still here. Things are still crazy. I’m still taking photos.

But after grading papers for 60 hours last week, I have lost all desire to be near the computer. Especially since I will be grading papers again next week.

Oh well. New blog posts will happen later this week.

In the meantime, here are today’s highlights:

1. It is 106° outside. Who knows what the heat index is. Who cares. Above 100° the temperatures all feel the same to me.

2. Even though the world seems to be melting, I remember winter and how it felt to be cold for an extensive amount of time, so I refuse to complain about the heat.

3. My daughter says “ot” instead of “at.” We’ve tried to make her say it correctly, she refuses, and since the heat has worn down our defenses, we’re letting it go. Until winter.

4. That same (and only) daughter of ours told me a story that took 50 minutes to tell. Literally 50 minutes. It consisted of an evil Potato-head on a cross, Barbie, Aslan, an octopus, and “a very disappointed Jesus.” I wish I could repeat the story, but it was a once in a lifetime event.

5. This morning I did yoga. After yoga, I immediately went to the store and bought a bag of pretzel M&M’s. The biggest issue here might be that I see no problem with my choices.

6. When I went to pick up my child from the gym daycare, I found her standing on top of a bear statue singing “L is for the way you look OT me, O is for the only one I see, V is very, very extra-ordinary, and E is even more than anyone I adore…” into a plastic microphone at the top of her lungs. I briefly considered claiming the child quietly rocking a doll by the window as my own.

7. Tomorrow will be our 8 year wedding anniversary. 8 is my favorite number and I can’t wait to spend a whole year celebrating it with Matt.

8. We are most likely leaving town in search of a cooler place to celebrate. Not that I’m complaining about the heat or anything.

One Comment to “Life”

  1. WELL, I’M COMPLAINING, EVEN AFTER A LONG TRIP IN SEARCH OF A COOLER PLACE! THERE IS NONE, I SUPPOSE.

Leave a Reply

