A Different Kind of Prayer

As we were driving this morning, Abby began barking from the backseat. This is way more common than it should be. In fact, I’m beginning to wonder if she could earn a record for longest running “phase that should only last a few weeks or months.”

My response, as it is more often than not, was to say, “Please no barking in the car.” (Seriously, I could write a book on the things I never thought I’d say to my child.)

Then the following conversation ensued:

Abby: “Does barking hurt your ears?”

Me: “Yes.”

Abby: “Does little dog barking hurt your ears?”

Me: “Yes.”

Abby: “Do you think you just don’t have the right type of ears?”

Me: “I hadn’t thought that, but maybe you’re right.”

Abby: “I can pray you get the right type of ears.”

Me: “Why don’t you just pray that the barking will stop?”

Abby: “Nope. I’ll pray right now for you to get the right kind of ears. Dear Jesus….”

I’m pretty sure this could be a great example of how prayer can differ from one person to the next, but right now I’m too tired from all the barking to make sense of it.

Any advice on how to convince your child that being an animal is not better than being a human is greatly welcomed and appreciated!

One Comment to “A Different Kind of Prayer”

  1. Jeannie, Sarah just started making the barking sound of Friday when we went camping and Rosie was SCREAMING as we drive off, yes she was with us. I thought of you and told Sarah, “No barking in the car”. I want to get a head start. anna

Leave a Reply

