Archive for October 18th, 2010

10/18/2010

The not-so-natural gymnast

I wish I’d had a camera rolling.

Abby wanted to do some gymnastics so Matt thought he’d help her try a handstand.

Next thing I knew, he was holding her in the air by her feet.

He told her, “Okay, now hold yourself up.”

And what did my child do?

She put her hands under her head and tried to physically lift her body into the air.

No hands on the floor at all.

Matt thought that maybe a headstand against the couch would be a better place to start.

Moments later her head was on the ground, as were her hands, and her feet were resting on the seat of the couch, two feet above her head.

And yet she still managed to scream, “Get me down from here!”

She may be in training for a very, very long time.

10/18/2010

Hanging Out A Shingle

My husband is pretty amazing. He’s probably the handiest guy I know. Seriously. He has replaced the brakes on our cars, refinished our hardwood floors, installed crown moulding, repaired antique furniture, resurfaced kitchen countertops, and completely rebuilt the back room of our house from the ground (literally) up.

But his talent goes beyond physical labor.

One of the first things he gave me when we were dating was a painting of his. I honestly didn’t believe he’d painted it. (I can’t draw a stick figure so I’m always a little skeptical and in awe of people who can!) But he had. And he continues to cover our walls with his art.

After years of just “playing around” and “it’s not that big of a deal” he’s moving forward with his very natural and obvious talent.

Here are a few of his recent works:

If you might be interested in commissioning a painting for your own home or as a gift for someone else, send me an email or leave a comment and I’ll get you more information. Styles, colors and canvas sizes are all customizable. Shipping to anywhere in the U.S. is available.

Tags: , ,