Grounded

Yesterday morning I woke up to an email that had a picture of my daughter in it. It was a little surreal.

After being mesmerized by her cuteness, I had a split second of worry that modeling might go to her head.

Then she came out of her room dressed like this:

I stopped worrying about the modeling issue and just started worrying about her future in general.

I then had the privilege to watch as she climbed the tree in the front yard and sat perched completely motionless and silent while a young woman came jogging down our sidewalk.

Abby didn’t move a muscle.

I think she may have been holding her breath.

Until the lady was right beside her.

Then Abby yelled, “HEY! My name is Abby!!!!!”

The lady turned her head, saw Abby in her ensemble, and honest-to-God ran off the sidewalk and into the road.

I was so thankful there were no cars.

I don’t know what it’s like to suddenly see a kid like this perched in a tree three feet away, but I’ve spent a full 24 hours laughing every time I imagine it.

Today we’ll be playing in the back yard.

Runners everywhere may rejoice.

Tags:

2 Comments to “Grounded”

  1. I love this outfit!!! Actually I love the baby inside the outfit!

  2. THIS IS AN ADORABLE ” ABBY ORIGINAL”. I HAVE LAUGHED TILL I HURT!

Leave a Reply

