The Heart of Things

Today I read two blogs/articles that caused me to think. Don’t you hate when that happens?

The first- this challenge by Sarah Markley that encourages me (you, us) to tell our story.

I’m very intrigued by the art of telling personal stories. Of telling my story. To one person at a time. The problem? I’m afraid of not telling it right. Using the wrong words, the wrong medium, the wrong venue.

The second- this list of the habits, and how to break them, of perfectionists.

Until recently, I would have never labeled myself a perfectionist. Most of the time I’m a mess and my house is a mess and my kid is a mess. But truthfully it is that mess that often prevents me from doing and creating and entertaining because I don’t think the mess will ever be controlled enough.

So today I’m thankful for these two resources. These words that remind me I don’t need to be someone else in order to do something else.

3 Comments to “The Heart of Things”

  1. CAN’T SAY THAT I AGREE WITH ALL THE DETAILS ON HER ARTICLE ON PERFECTIONISM. SOME OF MY ENDEAVORS HAVE BEEN QUITE PERFECTIONIST, BUT NOT BECAUSE OF WHAT “THEY WILL THINK”, BUT MORE BECAUSE I WANT IT TO BE PERFECT TO SATISFY “ME”!
    ANYONE SEEING MY CLUTTERED HOUSE OR MY SOMETIMES MESSY ATTIRE WOULD CERTAINLY NOT REFER TO ME AS A PERFECTIONIST. BUT A CERTAIN PROJECT, BE IT A BABY BLANKET OR A TILED FLOOR, FOR MYSELF OR SOMEONE I LOVE, MUST BE AS NEAR PERFECT AS I CAN MAKE IT. NEVER MIND THE OPINIONS OF OTHERS.

    • Oh Granny, I doubt that you’ve wasted any time worrying about what other people will think! It’s one of the things I most admire about you. I either didn’t inherit the trait or I crushed it into smithereens years ago. All my perfectionist issues have been centered around others opinions… but I’m working on letting it all go- which may not be good for my dancing abilities 😉

      • DANCING ABILITIES??? DANCE THE WAY YOU FEEL, AND AS IF NOBODY IS WATCHING YOU. IT FEELS GOOD!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

