I Lift Up My Soul: Devotions to Start Your Day with God by Charles F. Stanley

Dr. Charles Stanley has published well over 20 books (not including those in the In Touch study series) and inspirational sections have been pulled from those other publications to compile this book which offers a single devotion for each day of the year. Each day’s entry includes suggested scripture readings, a key verse, a devotion, and a prayer.

The book itself is nice- hardback, simple layout, appropriate font size and several lined pages at the end for journaling or recording notes. The content itself is okay- if you’ve read Dr. Stanley’s books before, then you know what to expect. If you’ve attended a Baptist church, then you too know what to expect.

Although the material is well-written and informative, it’s a little dry for my preferences. The commentary is heavy on leading questions and word images and doesn’t stir up much desire for me to reflect on the devotions throughout the day. That being said, I know loads of people who will appreciate the straight-forward writing and the connections Dr. Stanley makes between daily life and scripture.

I give this 3/5 stars.

***Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html> : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

