We Will

Genesis 22 was part of our Advent devotional the other day and I keep going back to it.

It’s verse 5 that has caught my attention:

“[Abraham] said to his servants, ‘Stay here with the donkey while I and the boy go over there. We will worship and then we will come back to you.'”

After being told to sacrifice his only child, after chopping wood and traveling for more than a day, after looking up and seeing the mountain where he was to lay down his son, Abraham left his servants with the parting words, “We will worship and then we will come back to you.”

I wouldn’t have said the same thing.

Instead it might have been, “I don’t know what’s going to happen up there. Start praying.” or “Find another sacrifice as fast as you can.” or “If I come back alone, God isn’t who I think He is.”

Much to my disappointment, even in my most trusting moments, I cling to backup plans. And I put my desire for comfort in front of His request for obedience.

Abraham wasn’t perfect, so I can’t pretend to know his heart when he spoke aloud that he and his son were going to worship and then they were coming back. Maybe he didn’t want to scare Isaac, maybe he didn’t want to alarm his servants, maybe the idea of anything else happening would have brought him to his knees in sorrow.

Or maybe he spoke those words because he really did believe that no matter what God asked of him, God still deserved to be worshipped. And maybe he really was faithful enough to trust that both he and Isaac would be walking back down that mountain together.

Sometimes a change in actions precedes and instigates a change in attitude.

I’m praying that regardless of my reservations, I’ll approach difficult situations with a mouth that audibly proclaims His name and His worth and His goodness.

And maybe I’ll find myself without a Plan B one of these days.

Leave a Reply

