Thank you.

Matt and I have been married for 8 1/2 years. In the grand scheme of things, not very long, so I’m writing this more for myself than as a suggestion for any of the three of you who read this.

The day after our wedding, we were in Hawaii listening to the waves crash onto the beach and I was overcome with gratitude by the enormity of the situation. That Matt had chosen me at all, but that he had chosen me for a lifetime, was overwhelming. So as we drifted off to sleep I simply said, “Thank you for marrying me.”

I’ve said that same thing nearly every day for the last 8 1/2 years. It’s not some kind of cute, “see how much I love you” message only meant for the two of us. It isn’t an inside joke. It isn’t a meaningless habit. I know marriage is hard and I know I am selfish and I know Matt knew both those things long before he said “I do” to me.

And so as often as it occurs to me to do so- while falling asleep, doing dishes, watching a movie or fighting about who ate the last bit of ice cream- I literally say thank you. It’s me recognizing that Matt didn’t have to choose me. It’s me acknowledging that he did have a choice. It’s my way of telling him that I know we didn’t stumble upon this life, we didn’t accidentally end up here. He took a chance on me and I am incredibly, continuously, thankful.

Leave a Reply

